Writers block and George RR Martin

I owe you more than this. I owe you writing about beginning my second fall at Trinity, our mission trip to Mexico, the death of my beloved uncle and reuniting with my Boston cousins, but the truth is I have spent most of the past 5 months unable to process, partly because of some health issues, partly because I came back from Mexico into a bit of a $#\+storm. All that being said, here you go. It’s a start at chipping my writers block.

I had plans for this morning. I was going to look up some reading recommended by a friend last night. I was going to make chili, do some laundry, get into the church in time to hear my colleague preach.

But then, I woke up early this morning and decided to read a bit more of Dances with Dragons. What I didn’t realise, since I read on a tablet, was that I had about 60 pages left. I woke up this morning to read Jon’s last chapter of the book (no, that was not a spoiler, but for those who have read it, you know what I mean) and, well, once I recovered (again, not a spoiler!) there was no way I was putting this book down again.

20111214-233307.jpg

I’ve been reading this series since the summer, after I watched Game of Thrones on HBO. I’ve taken the Starks, Lannisters, Targaryens and other Westerosi and Dothraki to Mexico and back, through this chaotic fall. And now, finally, there is nothing left until Martin writes book six.

Just to be clear, Martin is not like JK Rowling. Rowling wrote 7 books in 10 years. Martin wrote 5 books over 15 years and has two more to go! And here I am, not writing for 6 months. I mean, Martin is writing about an empire, a dozen locations, dozens of characters. My life is relatively simple.

I am going to miss these characters. I really love the kids in this series. They are powerful, respected, fun, brave, loyal and smart. Just like my youth group kids. Oh yeah!

So now what? In order to fall asleep tonight, I have to read something. A couple of months ago K downloaded Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close on a Kobo sale. I will likely start that tonight, once Colbert is turned off.

Be patient with me. In true Martin style, my dates might not line up over the next little while as I go backwards and forwards to fill in some blanks. It’s good to be back among the bloggers. Blessings to you!

One thought on “Writers block and George RR Martin

  1. Pingback: Back to Scripture: me and the e100 challenge « the flags of dawn

What think ye?

